Read much?

Considering these for my Books & Bars book club in 2010.
Your thoughts/suggestions are welcome. Have you read?
Think they are good for book clubs? Appeal to both men and women?
I’ve read a few of these, but am interested in your take, too.
Thanks.

Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy
A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole
Glover’s Mistake by Nick Laird
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler by Italo Calvino
The History of Love: A Novel by Nicole Krauss
The Fortress of Solitude by Jonathan Lethem
The White Tiger: A Novel (Man Booker Prize) by Aravind Adiga
OR
The Inheritance of Loss by Kieran Desai (but not both of these)
This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper
Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore
Flicker: A Novel by Theodore Roszak
America America: A Novel by Ethan Canin
Stoner (New York Review Books Classics) by John Williams
Little, Big by John Crowley
Everything Matters!: A Novel by Jr., Ron Currie
The Song Is You: A Novel by Arthur Phillips
Elegance of a Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery
Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz
Lazarus Project by Aleksandar Hemon
Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruis Zafon
City of Thieves by David Benioff
The Geography of Bliss: One Grump’s Search for the Happiest Places in the World by Eric Weiner
The New Kings of Nonfiction by Ira Glass
Lowboy: A Novel by John Wray
Observatory Mansions: A Novel by Edward Carey

Have other ideas for picks?

5 Comments

Filed under Books & Bars

5 responses to “Read much?

  1. The Calvino book is pretty much fantastic, but I might have suggested it.

  2. Jess K.

    To Kill A Mockingbird is my favorite book. I haven’t read it in years and it might be great to re-read it with adult eyes as well as discuss how relevant it still is today.

    I’ve also read A Confederacy of Dunces. I enjoyed it, but I don’t recall a great deal about it. I know it would appeal to both genders.

    I’ve been wanting to read Lamb now for quite some time! Awesome!

  3. Dan

    Lamb is a great, fun read.

    I had a really hard time getting into Confederacy of Dunces. Ignatius and I have issues like Holden Caulfield and I do. I kinda just want to punch him in the face.

    I’m interested in John Wray, as you know. Lowboy is supposed to be great though I’d again throw Canaan’s Tongue into the mix.

    My opinions on the greatness of Blood Meridian are well-documented.

  4. Dig

    Lamb is one of my favourites. An excellent read.

  5. DuBay

    I love Blood Meridian. Kind of a hard read the first time (think Moby Dick). But it makes for some great discussion points.

Leave a Reply

