Thank You for the Guilty Pleasures

Which one are you?

Doodles walks around singing this tune every once in a while. This morning he was hitting it pretty hard.

I make no apologies. Much like The Current’s No Apologies track at 4pm each day with Mary Lucia. These are damn fine pop tunes. And for some reason this next one always hits me on an emotional level. In fact, yes, I’d put in my Top 100 All Time*.

Hey Abba, thank you for the music.

I’ve been on some kind of Swedish kick lately with books, music and film. Stieg Larsson, Little Dragon and all the meatballs I’ve been scarfing down. I can’t remember yet, only one coffee in me, but there are other examples of my Swedelove.

Anyway, I used to make mixes called Guilty Pleasures, but now I find there is no guilt. You like what you like. It’s a party in the USA. There’s a reason why some things are really popular. Maybe they’re actually pretty good, too. Throw a T-Swift tune on your mix and see if it works. I should confess, I cut one of her tracks from an earlier monthly mix for not wanting to dilute my indie cred. And the other track alluded to up there was an almost ran, too.

Here’s your chance to tell us your formerly guilty pleasure. In the comments section write:

My name is __________ and I like _______________.

Give us a link to check it out and not judge you, but rather admit maybe we like it, too.

*List in progress, always changing. Can’t be held to it.

5 Comments

Filed under Music, Take a Chance, video

5 responses to “Thank You for the Guilty Pleasures

  1. my name is lotalee sparkman and i dig TLC. left eye forever. and anything to do with drag queens.

  2. Don’t go chasin’ waterfalls, Lotalee. Love that tune and Creep. Did you ever hear Afghan Whigs’ wonderful cover of Creep?

  3. My Name Christian and I love Justin Timberlake, “Party in the U.S.A.” by Miley Cyrus (it sounds just like Passion Pit), several Bryan Adams singles, most anything The-Dream wrote/produced (“Single Ladies”, “Umbrella”, etc.), most of John Denver’s catalog. I love pop. No guilt.

  4. Katie

    Yes! Party in the USA- I can’t help it, I just love that song!

  5. e

    Nice! And I think you know what I like.

Leave a Reply

